SiteLock
Old Noob in central Colorado - KLR650.NET Forums - Your Kawasaki KLR650 Forums Resource! - The Original KLR650 Forum!
KLR650.NET Forums - Your Kawasaki KLR650 Forums Resource! - The Original KLR650 Forum!
Go Back   KLR650.NET Forums - Your Kawasaki KLR650 Forums Resource! - The Original KLR650 Forum! > Regional Events, Upcoming Rides & Tech Days > United States
> The Rockies
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 01-17-2017, 10:53 PM   #1
ccdell

Super Cool Since: Feb 2015
Locale: Colorado
Postings: 11
ccdell is on a distinguished road
Default Old Noob in central Colorado

I am an old noob in central Colorado looking to get more off road time on my bike. Although I have put about 20,000 miles on my KLR, I really haven't put in much off-road miles on at all. Does anyone know any places to practice (suitable for a new to off road rider) around the Colorado Springs area?

I have heard about Penrose Commons and am planning on checking it out when the weather gets a little warmer (and I get the bike back together).

How about any groups/riders that are noob tolerant for a day trip?

ccdell
ccdell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 05:23 PM   #2
SgtMarty
LEVEL 3 STAFF

Super Cool Since: Jul 2003
Postings: 3,950
SgtMarty has much to be proud ofSgtMarty has much to be proud ofSgtMarty has much to be proud ofSgtMarty has much to be proud ofSgtMarty has much to be proud ofSgtMarty has much to be proud ofSgtMarty has much to be proud ofSgtMarty has much to be proud of
Default Re: Old Noob in central Colorado

Hi. You have Rampart Range right next to you, plus the Rainbow Falls and 717 riding areas to the north-west. Really, there is a lot in your area. As far as group activities, there used to be more, but it's slacked off in recent years. Keep checking here in the Spring and Summer to see what people are posting. There are usually group rides through the Shelf Road/Phantom Canyon loop, Pikes Peak, and Rampart trails.

And welcome.