SiteLock
Kawasaki Versys competition for BMW F800GS - KLR650.NET Forums - Your Kawasaki KLR650 Forums Resource! - The Original KLR650 Forum!
KLR650.NET Forums - Your Kawasaki KLR650 Forums Resource! - The Original KLR650 Forum!
Go Back   KLR650.NET Forums - Your Kawasaki KLR650 Forums Resource! - The Original KLR650 Forum! > Other Kawasaki Motorcycles > Versys Discussion Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Versys Discussion Forum

Old 05-10-2008, 03:06 PM   #1
CC_Ryder
Occasional Poster

Super Cool Since: May 2008
Locale: Gulf South
Postings: 3
CC_Ryder is on a distinguished road
Default Kawasaki Versys competition for BMW F800GS

(Sorry for the long post to follow , but hope it will set up a serious forum)

New member - I've been lurking for some time and have a challenge for the forum.

I currently have a 2005 KLR650 that I've been commuting and adventure touring for 1-1/2 years. I've put about 12K miles on it.

I love the bike. It has all the standard performance farkles for older model KLRs, but I still want at least another 15 -20 hp for touring. I like the suspension and handling improvements to the 2008 KLR650, but still no HP gains of consequence. The Versys has the HP, but looses the off-road component I desire due to the 17" front wheel.

Then I saw the BMW F800GS. Looks like everything in one package. HP for touring and 21" front wheel for adventure off-road use. Problem - Not available till September '08 . It's a New Model with all their inherent problems and an $11,000 BMW price tag!

Kawasaki Competition for the BMW F800GS

With the rock solid dependability and economical Kawasaki Versys and KLR650, I wondered how to combine them into an adventure touring setup that still still has some real off road ability.

Now to the point.

There are 2 possible solutions.